Skip to content


Asia Pacific

  • Africa

  • Egypt
  • Africa
  • (Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa)

Filter Options
Text :
Search Criteria :
Territory/Country :
Product Group/Product :
News Type :
My Favorites:

Turkey extends safeguard measures on PET imports

by ChemOrbis Editorial Team -
  • 08/11/2017 (13:19)
According to a statement published in the Official Gazette on November 8, 2017 Turkey’s Council of Ministers agreed to extend the existing safeguard measures on PET imports, which will expire three years after the date of issuance.

Previously, the decision to impose additional duties on PET imports was put into effect as to prevent unfair competition on October 16, 2014.

According to the decision, the additional financial obligation for PET imports for countries subject to the additional duty will be 6.40% in the first year, 6.20% the next year and 6% in the third year.

Following the approval of the safeguard measures on PET imports, Turkey’s Council of Ministers opened a tariff allocation for countries which will be exempt from these additional duties on the condition that total PET exports from all the affected countries to Turkey do not exceed 6,995 tons for each year. The tariff quota per country, on the other hand, will not exceed 2,332 tons.

The complete list of the countries that are under tariff quotas:

Afghanistan, Angola, Albania, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Cook Islands, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, East Timor, Equatorial Guinea, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Morocco, Ivory Coast, Philippines, Palestine, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Georgia, Haiti, Cambodia, Cameroon, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kirghizstan, Kosovo, Kiribati, Columbia, Comoros, Congo, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Lebanon, Madagascar, Macedonia, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritius, Egypt, Micronesia, Mongolia, Moldova, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Niger, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Uzbekistan, Paraguay, Ruanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somali, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Chili, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Jordan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia.
Free Trial
Member Login